Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Fall 2017 NetGurus Meeting

Internet2 will provide NetGurus a room to be set in a closed Board style conference seating to support ~30 participants . The meeting will take place the Thursday after the Technology Exchange (October 15-18, 2017) conference concludes. We will have a projector and screen available if needed by participants.

Summary

Location

San Francisco, CA

Room

Water Front A/B, Atrium Lobby Level

Date

Oct. 19, 2017

Time

9:00am - 5:00pm

NOTE: Breakfast and lunch are on your own. A morning and afternoon break with snacks and beverages will be provided. We will go to dinner as a group the night before.

 

Tentative Agenda

Time

Activity

Wed 6:00pmGurus and Guests Dinner

Thu Breakfast

On your own

Thu 9:00am

Gurus start

Thu 10:00-10:30am

Break and networking (Pacific Concourse Level shared with Advance CAMP group)

Thu Noon

Lunch on your own

Thu 2:30-3:00pm

Break and networking (outside the Water Front Rooms shared with other groups)

Thu 5:00pmFestivities end, must clear out promptly.

***Note that the dinner is on Wednesday night, instead of after the meeting Thursday.

Attendance

***Registration is currently closed as of 9/19/17. Please email Dan or Cas if you would like to be put on the cancellation list.

Contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Cas D'Angelo (cas.dangelo@oit.gatech.edu) to RSVP and for topics you wish to discuss during the meeting. Attendance limit is 30.

#

Name

Email

1

Dan Brisson

dbrisson@uvm.edu

2Cas D'Angelocas.dangelo@oit.gatech.edu
3Andrew Galloagallo@gwu.edu
4Michael Van Norman

mvn@ucla.edu

5Danny Shuedyshue@unc.edu
6Will Whitakerwill.whitaker@unc.edu
7Adair Thaxtonsthaxton@email.unc.edu
8Jose Santiagojdsantiago@triton.uog.edu
9Randy Dahiligrandyfd@triton.uog.edu
10Chris Cookchris.cook@nyu.edu
11Georgi Stoyanovgeorgi@lsu.edu
12Kevin Mayeshirokmayeshiro@ucdavis.edu
13Frank Seesinkfrank@wvnet.edu
14John Kristoffjtk@depaul.edu
15Matthew Teshima

mteshima@hawaii.edu

16Alan Whinery

whinery@hawaii.edu

17Tony Brockanthony.brock@oregonstate.edu
18Drew Lakedrew.lake@depaul.edu
19Scott Friedrichscott@gatech.edu
20Brian Flanaganbrian.flanagan@oit.gatech.edu
21Robb Brantleyrobb.brantley@oit.gatech.edu
22Jason Wangj.wang@its.utexas.edu
23Bruce Curtisbruce.curtis@ndsu.edu
24Laurie Collinsworthljc1@cornell.edu
25Richard Machidaramachida@alaska.edu
26Eric Croniseeric.cronise@cornell.edu
27Amy Liebowitzamylieb@umich.edu
28Sam Ziadeh

sziade1@lsu.edu

29Ethan Batemanebateman@lsu.edu
30Charles Rumfordcharlesr@isc.upenn.edu
31Dave Farmerfarmer@umn.edu
32Colin Murphymurphy@umn.edu
33Rich Ingramrni@umn.edu

 

Discussion Topics and Notes

Topics are submitted by participants. Please contact Dan Brisson (dbrisson@uvm.edu) or Cas D'Angelo (cas.dangelo@oit.gatech.edu) to add an item to the agenda.

  • SDN for real, not just as a plaything.
    • Intentionally provocative language for the title. Most of what I see in terms of SDN is point solutions (often around the Science DMZ) that seem more oriented towards solving the problem of not having SDN. That’s fine at small scale, and it adds spice to the job, but is it really scalable? What does real SDN in a production, campus network look like? Probably not what has been done to date.
  • IPv6
    • State of IPv6 implementation on campuses across US - SLAAC vs DHCPv6

    • Device registration portal with IPv6 support - does such a thing exist?

    • Challenges in tying IPv4 and IPv6 addresses to a user without .1x

    • Experiences with NAT64 or some variant
  • Data Center Networking:
    • Virtualization of the networking
    • NSX? Contrail? ACI?
    • EVPN? MPLS? VXLAN?
    • Extending to the Cloud
  • IPv4 - Buying more space vs. NAT?
  • Automation
    • Ansible and Salt
    • Docker, Docker Swarm, Kubernetes
  • Cloud
  • Wireless
    • 5ghz only SSID?
    • Device Registration & Fingerprinting
  • Security topics
    • DNS RPZ feeds
    • Border/Edge Firewalls
    • IDS/IPS in-band/out-of-band
  • R&E Connectivity
  • Traffic flow and pcap monitoring tools
  • Cooperative grant funding projects and ideas

Dinner Options


Tarantino's Restaurant

Dinner Menu

More options to follow

 

 

Thanks for the Support

Many thanks to our sponsors who have made this meeting possible:

Marie Modrell
Kelly Faro
George Loftus
Internet2