Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

IAM Online - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

3 p.m. EST / 2 p.m. CST / 1 p.m. MST / Noon PST

www.incommon.org/iamonline

A Panel Discussion About Persistent Identifiers for Education

A number of factors are coalescing around the need for a globally unique, persistent, non-reassigned, transparent identifier for each individual. Join our panel to hear about these factors during the next IAM Online.

Chief among these factors is the mobility of users across sectors and services and the rise of virtual and collaborative organizations. The movement towards state longitudinal data systems (that track academic progress of students from pre-school to postsecondary education) and the rollout of the National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace are forcing us to rethink the role of identifiers and credentials for education and beyond.

There remain a number of difficult technical, policy, and process issues, especially when personal identity, trust, privacy, and accountability must be considered. This panel discussion will explore some of the current technology and policy challenges presented by unique identifiers and credentials, as well as opportunities for establishing standards and practices for the education community and what is required for a global Identity, Credential, Access Management (ICAM) approach.

Panelists

Keith Hazelton, Senior IT Architect, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Steve Midgley, Deputy Director, Office of Education Technology, United States Department of Education
Tracy Mitrano, Director of IT Policy, Cornell University
Tim Poe, Senior Collaborative Technologist, MCNC
Tom Scavo, Operations Manager, InCommon
Bill Weems, Assistant VP for Academic Computing, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Hosts

Chris Duffy, CIO, Peirce College
Rodney Petersen, Government Relations Officer and Director of the Cybersecurity Initiative, EDUCAUSE

Connecting

We use Adobe Connect for slide sharing and audio: http://internet2.acrobat.com/iam-online.

For more details, see www.incommon.org/iamonline.

ABOUT IAM Online

IAM Online is a monthly online education series including essentials of federated identity management, hot topics from the EDUCAUSE Identity and Access Management Working Group, and emerging topics in IAM. Experts provide overviews, answer questions and lead discussions. IAM is brought to you by InCommon in cooperation with Internet2 and the EDUCAUSE Identity and Access Management Working Group.

Labels:
None
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.